goodreads_icon_50x50-4b546772c2dbe7c347427cf12d59cf93

Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman

To be released January 2015 by Minotaur, St. Martin’s Press

Lady Montfort has been planning her annual summer costume ball for months, and with scrupulous care. Pulling together the food, flowers and a thousand other details for one of the most significant social occasions of the year is her happily accepted responsibility. But when her husband’s degenerate nephew is found murdered, it’s more than the ball that is ruined. In fact, Lady Montfort fears that the official police enquiry, driven by petty snobbery and class prejudice, is pointing towards her son as a potential suspect.

Taking matters into her own hands, the rather over-imaginative countess enlists the help of her pragmatic housekeeper, Mrs. Jackson, to investigate the case, track down the women that vanished the night of the murder, and clear her son’s name. As the two women search for a runaway housemaid and a headstrong young woman, they unearth the hidden lives of Lady Montfort’s close friends, servants and family and discover the identity of a murderer hiding in plain sight.

In this enchanting debut sure to appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Tessa Arlen draws readers into a world exclusively enjoyed by the rich, privileged classes and suffered by the men and women who serve them. Death of a Dishonorable Gentleman is an elegant mystery filled with intriguing characters and fascinating descriptions of Edwardian life—a superb treat for those who love British novels.

bt_amazon_print_smallbt_amazon_kindle_smallbt_barnes_and_noble_print_smallbt_barnes_and_noble_nook_smallbt_booksamillion_smallbt_indiebound_smallkobo-icon

Recent News

Death of a Dishonorable Gentlemen will be released by Minotaur Books, St. Martin’s Press January 6, 2015.

Standby for a COVER REVEAL!

A Party for Winston. The second book in the series to be released in January 2016.

How Edwardian Are You?

Lord DalhousieTake the New Quiz

Ten questions to test your knowledge of the Edwardian era.

Blog Redoubtable Edwardians

Please visit my blog, Redoubtable Edwardians, which features articles about the colorful eccentrics who populated the era of my books. I hope you will find them as fascinating as I do!

 

Philip de Laszlo's portrait of Elinor

Elinor Glyn and the Tiger Skin

Elinor Glyn was a best-selling romantic novelist whose fame peaked in the early 1900s. She wrote what were criticized by some as novels of ‘questionable quality and taste’ at a time when Victoria’s rigid rules for fidelity (for the upper classes) had long been mislaid. Elinor’s risqué novel Three Weeks, published in 1907, described the… Read the full article >>

More >

housemaids

The Redoubtable Edwardian Housemaid and a Life of Service

Run was the operative word for the housemaid as she scuttled down the backstairs — the grand main staircase was strictly out of bounds — opened the shutters in the family drawing rooms, raked out and re-laid the fires, blacked and polished the fireplaces, tidied up the mess casually made the night before, spread the… Read the full article >>

More >

BritishEmpire

Redoubtable Historical Novelists of the 21st century!

  Thank you to Julian Bell author of Whatever You Say, Say Nothing, a historical thriller set in Dublin in 1920 and writer of the very entertaining blog: Lifelong Londoner  for his invitation to me to take part in a blog tour, in which writers take turns to answer the same four questions about their writing, and then… Read the full article >>

More >